Queueing Theory News Page

This Queueing Theory News web page contains information on Queueing Theory collected by Dr. Myron Hlynka, of the University of Windsor, in Windsor, Ontario, Canada. For any additions or corrections, please contact Dr. Hlynka at hlynka@uwindsor.ca
URL is http://web2.uwindsor.ca/math/hlynka/queue.html
Last update: April 5, 2020.


December 17-18, 2020. ICQTSN 2020: 14. International Conference on Queueing Theory, Systems and Networks. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia https://waset.org/queueing-theory-systems-and-networks-conference-in-december-2020-in-kuala-lumpur
August 21-23, 2020.
CanQueue 2020 to be hald at Banff, Canada.
April 5, 2020. A new web page "Queueing and Covid-19" has started. See
MARCH 12, 2020: CONFERENCE CANCELLED. Due to the COVID-19/SARS-CoV-2 outbreak, we regrettably must announce that ECQT-20 is CANCELLED and is postponed to a time when the situation becomes more stable. The Takács Thesis Award Call is suspended as well. https://ecqt20.sciencesconf.org/
August 27-–29 2019, 14th International Conference, QTNA 2019 was held in Ghent, Belgium,
August 19, 2019. CanQueue 2019 was held at the U of Toronto. http://www.fields.utoronto.ca/activities/19-20/CanQueue2019
February 27, 2019
14th International Conference on Queueing Theory and Network Applications (QTNA 2019)
Ghent, Belgium
27-29 August 2019

Sept.5, 2018. From Vladimir Anisimov (Data Sciences |Center for Design & Analysis at Amgen Inc. London, UK). "I am editing now a book “Advaced trends in queueing theory” (collection of chapters)"
Aug. 18, 2018. The CanQueue 2018 conference was held in Edmonton on August 17 and 18. Presentations of research in queueing theory and related areas are invited.
See the conference web site at
or email the conference chair (Armann Ingolfsson, armann.ingolfsson@ualberta.ca) for further information.
July 5,2018. CBC Radio. Montreal filmmaker Josh Freed has created a TV documentary called "Taming of the Queue", about queues in different countries, and the psychology of queues. A 25 minute radio interview with Josh can be listened to
July 26-27, 2018
The 13th International Conference on
Queueing Theory and Network Applications
Tsukuba Science City

July 2-4, 2018.
3d European Conference in Queueing Theory -- Jerusalem, Israel

April 15, 2018. Takács Award for outstanding PhD thesis on "Queueing Theory and its Applications" The Takács Award is a bi-annual award presented to doctoral dissertations in recognition of outstanding contributions to queueing theory, including the development of theory, methodological advances, computational aspects and applications. The award is accompanied by a certificate, a cash prize of 1000€, and an invitation (travel costs, accommodation, and registration fee covered) to deliver a plenary talk at the ECQT conference.
Eligibility: Open to candidates from all over the world for theses defended between 1/1/2016 and 31/12/2017. There are no restrictions neither on the nationality of the applicant nor on the location of the degree-awarding institution.
Deadline for applications: April 15, 2018.
Call for Nominations: 2018 Erlang Prize
Deadline: April 1st, 2018 (please note the new deadline) The Applied Probability Society of INFORMS (APS) is currently soliciting nominations for the 2018 award of the biennial Erlang Prize. The Erlang Prize is awarded once every two years to an earlier career researcher (within 9 years of earning their first PhD) who has made a significant contribution to applied probability.
The previous winners are: Dimitris Bertsimas, Jose Blanchet, Xiuli Chao, Jim Dai, Ton Dieker, David Gamarnik, Paul Glasserman, Ramon van Handel, Steven Kou, Johan van Leeuwaarden, Balaji Prabhakar, Kavita Ramanan, Josh Reed, Devavrat Shah, David Tse, Larry Wein, and Bert Zwart.
The prize consists of a plaque and a $1000 check. The prize will be awarded at the 2018 INFORMS annual meeting in Phoenix, Arizona. The winner will be notified approximately one month prior to the meeting. Presentation of the prize will be made by a member of the APS Prize Selection Committee. This year's Prize Selection Committee consists of Rami Atar, Jose Blanchet, and Amber Puha (chair). The rules that govern the prize can be found at the following link:
connect.informs.org/aps/apsawards/erlang Nominations should be sent electronically to each member of the Prize Selection Committee at the email addresses listed below by April 1st, 2018 (nominations will be held in confidence).
Prof. Rami Atar, Department of Electrical Engineering, Technion, Email: rami@technion.ac.il,
Web page: webee.technion.ac.il/people/atar
Prof. Jose Blanchet Department of Management Science and Engineering Stanford University
Email: jblanche@stanford.edu
Web page: engineering.stanford.edu/people/jose-h-blanchet Prof. Amber Puha (chair) Department of Mathematics California State University San Marcos
E-mail: apuha@csusm.edu
Web page: public.csusm.edu/apuha

Return to Myron Hlynka's Queueing Theory Web page